Why are we updating the Roles and Permissions?
We are making these changes so that you will have more control over your individual roles and can better manage the visibility of learning groups in your organization.
What are the major changes?
Within the organization overview page, the list of invited learners will no longer be displayed to all company administrators. Learners will be divided into public and private groups.
The visibitily of learners and statistics for managers will be limited to ONLY those invited directly by them, or the private groups. The visibility of statistics will also be limited to those of the private group. All managers can view all information from public groups.
A new role is being introduced, the Company Administrator, which has the same roles and permissions as the Company Owner. The initial Company Owner can designate these roles within their company.
What is the difference between a public and private group?
Public groups are lists of learners, whose information is available to all managers. These include learner information and learners’ statistics.
Private groups are lists of learners that are invited by a specific manager. Only the invitee will be able to view their learner lists and the respective statistics.
What are the roles and what can they access?
There are four roles with different accessibility permissions.
Company Owner - this individual has access to all administrative rights. These rights cannot be changed. The Company owner also selects the accessibility criteria for all other roles.
Company Administrator - individuals with this role have all of the rights and permissions of a Company Owner. Managers can request to become a Company Administrator from their Company Owner.
Manager - the majority of the company administrators will have the role of manager. The manager can invite, create and manage learning paths, create and manage user groups, and have access to the company space. However, their access to user lists and statistics are limited to the private groups with the user lists that the manager invited. The managers can access all the information for public groups.
Learner - this individual does not have access to any administrative rights. They only have access to the learners dashboard.
Who can edit the access permissions for the roles?
The Company Owner and the Company Administrator can edit the roles and permissions. The Company Administrator is selected by the Company Owner.
Will the roles and permissions for learners change?
No, learners will not be affected by the changes made to the roles and permissions.
Will learners who have already been invited to LPs need to be reinvited?
No, learners will not have to be reinvited to already set learning paths.
Will learners lose their learning progress?
No, learners will not lose their learning progress. They can continue their learning as before.